‘Perfume of the Mountain Grass’ *

It’s not my music and I would never have heard it but for the wonderful Annika Perry. I’m so glad I stopped to listen to the two songs she’s put on her post. They’re not really that musical but the words are transforming. Ed Sheeran is a great writer. Read Annika’s post and enjoy!

Annika Perry's Writing Blog

top

An unassuming man writes unassuming songs with such power and poetry that he’s single-handedly dominating the UK music charts with 14 of his songs in the UK top 15.

EDEd Sheeran, a Yorkshire lad, grew up in a village not far away and it was his ‘Castle on the Hill’ that first grabbed my attention with his signature style of telling a story of his youth, simple and straight forward but beneath the surface a soulful and profound message.

Quickly other songs on the album grew on me but ‘Castle on the Hill’ stayed with me and when I learned it was only an hour’s drive away a visit was planned. I just hoped it wouldn’t disappoint.

The predicted hour became a long meandering two-hour journey through quaint villages, thatched houses centuries old hugging the roadside. Soon other houses took on bold and vibrant hues, painted in ochre, startling orange…

View original post 418 more words

